There are so many mottos for living, but I’ve decided this is one that describes an ideal environmental virtue.

We humans must do, must make things–our marks. But to recognize finality, we must follow through and realize that there is work yet do and tracked land to restore once the dust of our making and doing finally settles.

August actions have been putting good things in–like trying JuicePlus, which the company says is “better than organic,” into my often computer-fried and service-laden physique that barely has time to put on-the-fly salads together from my CSA share.

I feel good as a result.

There’s happily supporting  Beverly Homecoming Fireworks, an event I eagerly anticipate every August because I usually work on 4th of July, in purchasing a decadent afternoon lobster roll knowing that not only does the money go to my much beloved summer highlight,  but that my lobster shells go back to the ground through compost, and the plasticware back to the recycler.

I feel money is well spent. Thank you Beverly!

And as this amazing month comes to a close, there’s seeing that so much effort is obtaining a goal (I’m currently rounding third base on a four-year UP-AT-BAT).The butt bins and the water canteens are here, people, aside from myself, are using them.

I am optimistic. Thank you committee!

It’s not everyday an environmentalist gets to say that. And even though it’s not always the case, it’s a relief to know for certain that when you put good stuff in and do your best to see it through, you can still get good stuff out.

For more about butt bins and water canteens, see the Citizens for Salem/Beverly Water Resources Committee Web page, with links to Boston Globe and other stories about the project.

